top of page

Empowering, Freeing, Authentic: Sisterhood


Every single one of us here is made for sisterhood or brotherhood. Everybody wants connection - that’s fundamental human nature. We are made for community. Have you ever heard anyone say, “I’m going off to college and I hope I make absolutely no friends.” Absolutely not. And it makes perfect sense that we as Catholics might sometimes especially strive to find that brotherhood or sisterhood outside of our immediate blood family. Why? Because we have the example of Jesus. Although Jesus was the Messiah and this great Rabbi, his apostles weren’t just his followers or subservients, they were his friends. In Matthew 28: 10, Jesus said to Mary Magdalene, "Do not be afraid. Go and tell my brothers to go to Galilee; there they will see me."

Jesus was calling his disciples his brothers, and that is not the only time that happens in the Gospels. Jesus ate with his brothers. He walked with them. He called upon them to do better. He gave them strength. We are called to do the same with our brothers and sisters.

When I was deciding where I wanted to live my freshmen year, I very easily could have lived with three Catholic Nursing friends in a high-rise and that be the end of it. Going from the Quad to a High-rise seemed almost like a Penn rite-of-passage. However, I am so glad those 3 friends called me on to consider the Women’s Household. One of the greatest joys in my life is constantly learning new things about the strong, caring, and brilliant women who I live with, who I would not have gotten to know without living in the Household. The other reason why Household is so important to my life, is that God calls us into a relationship with Him. He may be calling us in different ways, but for some of us, it may be through living in a Household. When I signed my lease and committed to living in Household, I also committed to working on growing in my relationship with God. There is a culture of prayer at the Household, and part of living in household includes committing to house prayer 2 times a week. That’s an hour every week that I have set aside to listen to God’s word and praising His Name. You can bet that if I did not sign a contract saying that I agreed to do that, I would not be setting that time, if any, out of my busy nights to pray. And now, the half an hour we spend Tuesday and Thursday nights praying together is the time I feel most of peace with myself and the world. If I did not commit to being in a small group as part of the household expectations, I would not spend time considering how God has been working in my life or asking tough questions about Faith and what God calls us to do.

Sisterhood hood is a vital part of the household. Before living in the household, I admit I was the type of person who rolled my eyes at the term sisterhood. I had my sister, who’s two years older then me and my best friend since forever, so why do I need sisterhood? It’s just a cliche of girls gossiping, painting each others nails, and giggling. I know now how wrong I was. Sisterhood is empowering. The sisterhood in the household empowers me to live a life of virtue. Because I know that everyone in the house will be there for me when I’m struggling, I am empowered to be vulnerable and open up to them, which I am now better at extending outward beyond the house instead of keeping on the Penn Face and insisting that everything is fine. Through being assigned a spiritual battle buddy(we call it our sister's keeper), which is another girl in the house who you do an assigned chore with along with helping you on your Faith journey, I am empowered to focus on my own spiritual growth, but also being there for all my sisters in the house. Through our conversations at house dinner, 5 minutes breaks (okay probably more than 5 minutes) we take when we are all doing homework around the kitchen table, or when we are doing the dishes and blasting Taylor Swift, I am empowered to prioritize people and conversation. It’s so easy to get caught up in the stress of Penn and develop this mindset that “I have to focus on myself, because if I don’t, I’ll be behind everyone else and won’t be able to catch up.” Living in the Household as proven to me that this is not true.

I am happier because of the mindset I have developed from living in the Women’s Household that our relationship with God and with others is more important than any grade on a test or job we might receive

Finally, knowing that there are 13 other women who accept me as I am, I empowered to be my authentic self. Authenticity is such an important virtue for women to embrace. Too often does society tell us we have to be a certain way. We can’t be too bossy or demanding, or else we’re a *inset unflattering term for a women that means female dog* nor can’t handle a joke. We can’t want to raise a family, because then I guess you don’t want a career. If we wear makeup, we’re just trying to attract guy’s attention, but if we don’t, we don’t care enough about our appearance. If we cry, it must be because we’re on our period or because women are just naturally more emotional. If no one has told you this now, then I apologize, because you should know that there is no right way to be a woman.

By living with 13 other women, I have realize how beautiful we all are as unique daughters of God and how much God loves us with all of our imperfections. Because of this, I am empowered to say that I will not make life hard for another woman.

We can use Household and sisterhood to instead lift each other up, and help each other recognize our own personal call to holiness. This idea of a personal call to holiness is also important to remember. Ladies, you are not meant to be St. Therese of Lisieux. I know I want way too much recognition for my actions to be. associated with St. Therese. And guys, you’re not meant to be like St. Joseph. Face it, you’re not a carpenter in 0 AD. Our worlds and situations are different, and thus our calls to holiness are different. Sure, you can learn from them, but don’t try to use someone else's map to heaven when God has already planted one in your soul that has all the directions you need. If I have learned anything from the household, it’s that my call to holiness is being myself.

Taken from Michelle's testimony "Thursday Night Live: A Newman Night on Brotherhood and Sisterhood" on 9/27/18

bottom of page