top of page

Out with the Old, in with the New(man)

I will always remember walking into the Newman Center for the very first time. After a long, hot, and tiring afternoon of moving into my freshman residential building, I arrived at Newman just in time for the start of the NOVUS retreat. I thought, Wow, this is finally happening! I entered the building with my family, feeling a mix of emotions about starting my freshman year of college. I was greeted by friendly, yet unfamiliar, smiles and signed in at the front desk. Everyone was immediately so attentive and helpful. Although I was unfamiliar with the people present and the place I was at, I was so eager to immerse myself into this experience. Who knew that it would become such an elemental essence of my college experience and identify?

While staring at a near-empty campus, my thoughts transferred between considering potential Newman-related blog ideas and feeling mesmerized about the school year ending. What came to mind were the many remarkable moments I have experienced at the Newman Center which is eventually undergoing relocation. I realized I would not relive those same experiences in the same location next semester, but rather a newly renovated location very close by! In honor of the selling and relocation of the Newman Center property, I suddenly realized how fitting it would be to take the time to appreciate the old Newman center and all of the joy, peace, and love it has brought me. This is certainly due to the presence of God as well as the students, staff, and religious life who make me so proud to identify with this community.

As I considered my favorite experiences that I will miss from the Newman Center, the following came to mind:

NOVUS Retreats: In my opinion, NOVUS is THE best annual Newman event. From the unforgettably hilarious wake up calls to the late nights spent bonding with friends, there are so many memorable elements that I cannot choose my most favorite part. I went on this retreat as a freshman and volunteered as a leader for the next two years. I am already excited to attend again at the end of the summer! Below are just some of the parts that deserve special mention:

(SPOILER ALERT: If you are reading this and planning on attending Novus as a freshman, do not read this section!!!)

  • Breaking the awkwardness between the freshmen with cheesy icebreakers

  • Listening to relatable talks that make me reflect deeply about life and writing/giving my very first one for the 2016 retreat!

  • Sharing and receiving academic, social, and spiritual advice in small group sessions that are never off-topic

  • Trying hard to stay awake during adoration and realizing I’m not the only one

  • Taking what might be the most satisfying shower ever after the mid-retreat outdoor activity

  • Exploring my creative skills in the Bible dessert challenge and the sugar high (and crash) that follow tasting the masterpieces

  • Welcoming a new group of Quakers (and plenty of new Newman nurses) into the Newman Community

Daily Mass: I really like the idea of being able to spend just a short time away from my busy day once in a while to focus on my relationship with God. It is nice to see familiar faces of students involved in Newman at these masses in the chapel as well. In addition to the familiar faces of students I’ve spotted at Daily Mass, I have also begun to recognize the adults who attend. There are often many adults present who work at Penn, and it is comforting to see that they are also taking a break from their work day to worship. I used to only attend Daily Mass a few times per semester but committed to going once a week during Lent. I hope to continue this routine.

Dessert Socials: Two of my favorite things combined into one event! Although I try to maintain a healthy diet, I certainly love to indulge in sweets. These events seem to pop up whenever I need them most. The pumpkin social is my absolute favorite – imagine an extensive array of all things pumpkin featuring some homemade creative specialties! I love taking a short study break to catch up with so many people all at once.

Super Bowl Parties: Although I am not entertained by watching football, I am entertained by watching members of the Newman community become so engaged in a football game. I have learned that us Catholics can be incredibly quiet during Mass, but when it comes to the Super Bowl, we can be extremely rowdy -- especially when it involves the Philadelphia Eagles. I will never forget watching Father Matt pray over the projector as we briefly experienced technical difficulties at the 2018 party. The prayers certainly worked!

Senior Send-Off: I attended this event for the first time ever this semester and was disappointed that I had never gone in the past! Hearing students read personal letters to the graduating seniors made me feel so appreciative of the wholesome bonds between individuals in this community. Also, the Chick-fil-a was a huge hit!

Just Hanging Around: Once in a while, I find myself at Newman to sit and work as a change of scenery from the libraries. When I am sitting inside Newman, I feel so relaxed and at peace. Maybe it is from a friendly greeting from whoever walks in. Maybe it is from whatever food is up for grabs. Maybe it is from hearing Father Carlos’s calming voice. Or maybe it is from seeing Bear make his special appearance. Or maybe it is all of the above, complimented by the Newman Center’s foundation as a place of gathering focused on faith.

These will be just a few of the experiences that I will look back on as I remember the old Newman Center. It still perplexes me that I will not be able to experience these same memories in this building that has become such an important foundation to my college experience. I have come to realize, however, that I value the Newman Center as more than a place. I value the Newman Center as the community of people actively engaged in growing together, spiritually and emotionally, as servants of God. The walls of the Newman Center do not make it the Newman Center; it is the authenticity of our relationships and devotion to God that completes the sum of its parts. Although the new Newman Center will certainly look different, I hope that I can experience the same feelings I did at the old one. As the Newman Center continues its phase of transition, I will look forward to all of the new memories. I have come to realize that like the Newman Center, many of us are also in a time of transition. With the school year concluding and summer about to begin, it is time of change. Whether it is preparing to relocate, begin a new job, travel, or whatever else is in God’s plan for us, we are about to be immersed into new experiences. The presence of God will remain during our time of transition just as his presence will remain within the new Newman Center

Breanne Mastromarino (right) is a rising senior in the school of nursing hailing from Northern NJ. Recently, she was accepted into the Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Program! She is easily one the friendliest people you will ever encounter! No matter where she is or she is with she brings a radiant enthusiasm and energy. She does not live in household, but her welcoming presence is an integral part of the Penn Newman Catholic community. She is our most frequent guest blogger here and always shares relatable college life insights! She manages a food instagram @bergenbites201

Interested in super Penn Newman during this time of transition? Click here

bottom of page