top of page

God's Early Morning Gift

God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. And God saw that the light was good.

-Genesis 1:3

(View from my apartment living room in Harnwell College House)

Ever since I was in high school, I have adored sunrises. The sunrise made the long early morning commute much better. I remember often looking out the school bus window in awe of the pink and orange landscape around me. I realized despite having to wake up so early, I was lucky to be able to witness such an aspect of God’s creation.

I have certainly seen more sunrises since then not only because I’ve lived four more years, but also because I have evolved into an early riser. In fact, I have seen almost every sunrise this past semester. Whether I am waking up for a clinical shift, a workout before morning lecture, or just to begin my day after falling asleep early the night before, I take a moment to appreciate the sunrise. During a sunrise, I may be eating breakfast, checking social media, studying, praying, or staring into space. While watching a sunrise, I feel like I am getting a head start to the day while simultaneously appreciating a wonderful element of God’s creation.

To me, sunrises are the God moments that begin each day. They are a reminder of God’s abundance. A sunrise is a gift from God that we did not have to do anything in particular to receive but believe in Him. It’s amazing because man cannot make such a thing. There are man-made lakes, man-made snow mountains, and man-made beaches, but nowhere on earth is there a man-made sunrise. By giving us the gift of a sunrise, God is giving us the greatest extent of hope that we can experience for the day. With the morning, there is so much potential for what can happen. I am very passionate about making the most of the twenty-four hours of the day I am given. Thus, I see the sunrise as a reminder that God wants us to use the day to go and be our best selves and flourish in his likeness and image.

Over the past year, I have really embraced my role of being a “morning person.” It is something that often makes me feel like the odd one out in a group of college students, but it is also one thing I really love about myself. I am one of those few college student whose energy peaks in the morning. I was not always this way throughout my life, but ever since I experienced the euphoria of a routinely morning workout, I have come to realize how much I enjoy starting my day. There are some nights where I will stay out late, fall asleep later than usual, and sleep hours past the sunrise the next morning. However, that makes me appreciate the sunrises I do see so much more.

This past semester, the sunrises on the days of my clinical shift became especially significant to me. Every Tuesday and Thursday, I would wake up shortly after 6am to arrive at the Hospital by 6:45am. A morning clinical shift meant that I would have to miss my morning workout (followed by a surge of energy and a runner’s high/endorphin boost) and instead do a dreaded afternoon workout or take a rest day. Depending on the time of the sunrise, I would often experience it while walking to my clinical shift at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania. One morning as I was walking to the hospital, I was thinking about how I would be missing out on my morning routine. Then I looked up and noticed the fascinating sunrise in my direction and thought to myself, “Hey, this isn’t so bad. I get to witness a beautiful and unique landscape created by God.” I stared at the sunrise for the rest of the walk and soon forgot about my previous thoughts. Once Daylight Savings occurred, the most colorful and attractive part of the sunrise would last when I arrived to my hospital unit. Each time I arrived on the floor, I would take a moment to appreciate the sunrise and photograph it, of course. It motivated me to feel prepared for my nursing shift, to attempt to acquire infinite knowledge, and to seize every opportunity to learn how to be a good nurse.

So the next time you see a sunrise, think about what it means to you. Think about what you hope for and how you will make the most of your hours of light to come. Think about what you will do with the day God gives you!

*I am willing to help anyone who would like recommendations or encouragement to become more of an an early riser or more productive in the morning. Please feel free to reach out!*

Click here for my gallery of some of my favorite sunrises of the semester!

Breanne Mastromarino is a third year nursing student hailing from Northern NJ. She is easily one the friendliest people you will ever encounter! She does not live in household, but her welcoming presence is an integral part of the Penn Newman Catholic community. She manages a food instagram @bergenbites201

bottom of page