top of page

Advent Then and Now: A Christmas Epiphany

*Spoiler Alert: Do not read if you believe in Santa!*

Gripping a thick Crayola marker, I stare at the blank white paper in front of me. My cousins sit at the other sides of the table, markers in hand and blank papers in front of them as well. What do I want Santa to bring me this year? I ask myself. One toy comes to mind and before I know it, I’m scribbling like crazy, filling out the list with many others. The switch from silence in thought to chaos in conversation is instant. My cousins and I are now enthusiastically shouting out every tangible item we’ve ever wanted, followed by, “I want that too!” or “Do you think Santa will bring it?” The paper that was once blank is now completely filled with a list of toys.

And it’s only Thanksgiving

 

I grip a thick Crayola marker. The white paper in front of me is blank. What do I want for Christmas from Mom and Dad that they’ll actually get for me? I hesitate for a few minutes. I finally some things such as money, a new watch, clothes, a monogram necklace, and slippers. This time, though, I am struggling to compile a list of enough items to satisfy my generous mother who LOVES to shop and continue our family tradition of massive gift-giving. I then ask myself a different question to see if that will bring more items to mind. If I could have anything for Christmas, what would it be? The items that came to mind immediately were for the most part not physical items, but intangible ideas such as happiness, love, success, courage, and strength. Clearly my parents cannot buy these from the mall or order from Amazon. That was when I realized that I had created a Christmas list not to my parents, not to Santa, but to Jesus.

(If anyone was wondering, I was able to lengthen my Christmas list of tangible items, but it took a LONG time).

 

I open my eyes, jump out of bed, and nearly run out of my room and into the kitchen. As my mom serves breakfast, my brother and I snatch our Lego Advent calendars from the dining room. We scramble into our seats at the kitchen table and open the cardboard door on the calendar for today, wondering which Lego creation we’d make today. The excitement of each day of Advent is almost like the excitement of Christmas. As my brother and I begin to build our figures for the day, I think, one day closer to Christmas – one day closer to receiving ALL of my presents.

(I no longer have an interest in building Legos, but my brother, on the other hand, is currently building an engine-powered go-kart for himself in his woodshop in the basement. I guess some things never change?)

 

I wake up, eager to jump out of my bed and begin my December morning with an oatmeal breakfast followed by a workout. Before I actually leave my bed, I orient myself with today’s date and recall that it is Advent. I pause for a moment and remind myself that Jesus is coming before I briefly pray. Lately I have been praying short traditional prayers or prayers of thanks for what I have recently been grateful for. One day closer to Christmas -- one day closer to Jesus coming. I then go on and begin my morning routine, feeling slightly more prepared than yesterday for December 25.…

 

These moments have helped me to realize how much the meaning of Christmas lists and Advent have changed for me overtime. The older I am, the more challenging it is for me to think of what to ask my parents to buy me for Christmas. However, the older I am, the easier it is for me to ask Jesus for the intangible things that I value immensely. I may no longer believe that Santa is coming to bring me toys, but I do believe that Jesus is coming to bring me something greater far beyond what I could even imagine. Without a doubt, I still love the tradition of selecting and exchanging presents with family and friends. I’ve recently understood that these presents can be of any kind and can be given to or received by anyone at any time. Whether it is an actual physical item or sharing your time, knowledge, or part of your heart, it is still a Christmas gift.

So, this Christmas, what will you ask Jesus for when He arrives? What will you give to someone?

Breanne Mastromarino is a third year nursing student hailing from Northern NJ. She is easily one the friendliest people you will ever encounter! She does not live in household, but her welcoming presence is an integral part of the Penn Newman Catholic community. She manages a food instagram @bergenbites201

bottom of page