top of page

Advent is a 'Yes'


The day after Thanksgiving, something in my brain switches to “getting ready for Christmas” mode. There’s fewer things I enjoy more than trimming the tree with a Bing Crosby or Frank Sinatra Christmas album playing in the background. A warm mug of hot chocolate (with marshmallows of course) and “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” on Christmas Eve is one of the simple joys in my life. I have often asserted to my family that if I ever became rich and famous, one of the first things I would do is record a Christmas album. During finals week, I went home to get some quiet studying done, but also so I could bake Christmas cookies. I’m writing this while I sit under the Christmas tree and listen to the Nat King Cole Christmas Pandora radio station (yes- Pandora. I just can’t get into Spotify).

So in case you couldn’t guess, I love Christmas.

I also love the beautiful liturgical season of Advent. It’s not just an excuse to partake in festive holiday activities for as long and early as possible. It is the wholehearted and joyful preparation for Christ’s coming. This Advent, I felt like I was not as focused on preparing myself for Christ as I should have been. December was a crazy month, to put it mildly. There was the hours and energy put into performing in a musical, and the stress of papers and studying for final exams, and so, readying my heart for Jesus was not my number one priority (between you and me, it was more of an afterthought than a priority). And so, when I went home for a few days during finals week, I decided to take some time to learn and reflect on the meaning of Advent and how to ready my heart.

For help, I turned to the videos of Father Mike Schmitz from Ascension Press. His video, called “Advent: More than a Chocolate Calendar”, was thoughtful and energizing, until he said, “Advent is a season to say no.” I understood why he said this, and his reasoning was solid because, “If Jesus showed up in your life would there be any room for him?”, and “You need to say "no" more, so I can say "yes" more to Jesus.” However, I have a different perspective for Advent.

For me, Advent is a season to say YES. So many other times in our life, especially as busy college students, we make excuses. Excuses to not spend time with family and friends. Excuses to not do small acts of kindness. Excuses to not prioritize our relationship with God. So often throughout the school year I say no. I think I can’t afford to give my time because of all the other directions I am being pulled. I see Advent, and the Christmas season, as a motivator for me to say YES more. YES to being generous in buying the perfect gift for our loved ones. YES to spend time and set up a train around the Christmas tree with your dad. YES to taking a Saturday afternoon to attend Confession or going to Daily Mass on a Wednesday that has no special significance. YES to having a girls’ night with your 3 closet friends even though you all have to study for that test. YES to ice skating, and baking cookies, and wrapping presents, and listening to Christmas carols that make you happy. YES to remember that God loves us so much He gave his Son to us many years ago in a stable in Bethlehem to bring light to the World. By saying yes more, I am opening my heart wider to God and to Joy, and then, I am better able to give and receive Love. And after all, that’s what Christmas is all about after all, isn’t it? That “…God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

Have a Merry Christmas!

Michelle’s 3 Favorite Religious and 3 Favorite Secular Christmas Carols

Religious:

  1. “The First Noel”

  2. “What Child is This”

  3. “Do You Hear What I Hear”

Honorable Mention: There’s nothing quite like closing Christmas Eve mass with “Joy to the World.” Also, David Bowie and Bing Crosby’s rendition of “Little Drummer Boy”

Secular:

  1. “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”

  2. “The Christmas Waltz”

  3. “The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting)”

Honorable Mention: Renee Fleming and Kelli O’Hara’s rendition of "Silver Bells"

bottom of page