top of page

From the In & Out Board

Stationed next to the front door, the In&Out Board is a signature of the house. Written from the perspective of the board, this post is a peak into daily life in the household

I can see the sun coming up - my indication that soon the sound of feet hitting the stairs will fill the house. It is almost Christmas; I’ve been here for a while. Hey, here comes someone running down the stairs! it’s Nicole, I think she might be late for NROTC today. She always looks really focused in the morning. There it goes, the little Nicole square is now in my "out" column.

It is interesting how the girls have grown used to me, but I see everything, and I don’t think they realize it. Here comes Theresa. With a towel again? I’m thinking she's off to the gym for a workout and shower this morning. Her little square is also "out" now. Their presence and constant movement fills my days with unpredictability and joy. They always seem to live such exciting lives; Michelle with her beautiful voice in the musicals, Brooke with her violin that I never have the chance to hear and Rose with her calm sweet temper and with playing her ukulele when she thinks no one is listening. It might be wishful thinking, but sometimes I feel like they are taking a little bit of me with them as they come in and out. Erg that’s what I get for wandering and digressing in my thoughts--they are all gone for the day.

Wait, no, Janae is here! I like her. She is always awake in the wee hours of the night keeping me company. She works so hard. And there she goes, have a nice day! Wow it's noon already and here comes Narelli. Running late per usual, and now she is out again. I can’t wait until they all come back! Maybe a couple more hours. It is funny, I just remembered Emily had her MERT shift at dawn, but you know I could tell she was so happy to see me again!

Claire is back, and she looks a little worried. Maybe something happened with Awakening planning? I don’t like seeing her worried, but I bet that when the other girls get here it will be fine--they will cheer her up! Claire´s square is back in. Yes! Gabbie just came trough the door and is texting; it must be Fr. Dan. The sun is starting to set. I love the way the light radiates through the window shining on all the little pictures of them pinned to me. They are a part of me, and it is kind of my personal reminder.

Ola, Ola! She has coffee again? oh yes! She has her radio show tonight. Shannon is back from work, she always looks so professional, she has a smile--seems like it was a good day. Shannon’s smiling face on her photo is now also back in. But... as I was saying, I feel like I live through them. Their lives and stories are what make me exist, and they are always coming back to me regardless of their days. There are days that are sad or happy, there are days with both victories and challenges, but the girls always come back to me. We live with each other and support each other, and I see everyone who comes in and out, I listen to all their days, help them to find the support they need in each other.

Dang… lost in my thoughts again, it is pitch dark already! There comes Ivana, talking to her mom. They have such a beautiful connection; I wonder what the fun-fact of the day is. Looks like everyone is back for the day... except for Narelli. There she comes, but something looks off and she’s staring at me. She smiles softly. I think she was just making sure that all the family was at home.

bottom of page