top of page

Finding a Home


Coming to Penn, as an international student, was both very exciting and stressful. I precisely remember my first day in the US – first steps in Philly, my new dorm, and the beautiful campus that was going to be my home for next 4 years. That was also the day when I visited the Newman Catholic Center for the first time. I attended the Novus Freshman Retreat, and it was one of the best decisions I could make as a first-year student lost at Penn. What a great start of the new chapter in my life!

Throughout my freshman year, I made a lot of great friendships, but I didn’t really feel like I fully belonged to this community at Penn. The whole struggle of being away from home, away from my family and friends made me decide to become more involved in Newman. And to further combat these struggles and seek community, I chose the Newman Women’s Household as my housing for the sophomore year.

And this was the year when everything changed. Timid and not knowing what was going to happen, ten girls decided to not only live together, but to create home for each other. We had to figure out everything: from house chores to our recruitment and marketing and formation. It was not easy, but God provided. We managed not only to survive in this new household, but growth together in sisterhood and faith. For me, living in the household has been, above all, finding home. It is a safe place on campus, where I don’t have to pretend to be someone else. At Penn, as we all know, it is particularly difficult not to loose yourself in the business of life, classes, extra-curriculars, and the job search. Having a community of Catholic women who support each other and knowing that I have friends I can rely on, is both heartwarming and stimulating. In 3811, I learned that household is not about me, but about us. I realized the importance of being present and intentional in all I do for the household, whether it is a birthday celebration or a casual talk while doing dishes. Also, I now truly understand that big things require time and commitment. But since we have a whole year for each other (my second year in the house!), I am really looking forward to all of the things that God has for us.

bottom of page